Football
Football

 

Weekly Announcements

October
23




POINTS OF CONSIDERATION

SITUATION: A scrimmage kick by K1 is partially blocked by R1. The ball goes beyond the neutral zone, where it is muffed by R2. The ball then bounces back behind the neutral zone, where it is recovered by K2. K2 advances the ball for a touchdown. Do you allow the touchdown to stand? 6-2

SITUATION: During a scrimmage kick from K’s own 10 yard line, the kick is muffed in flight by R1 and bounces back behind the neutral zone and into K’s end zone, where it is recovered by K3. What do you have? What do you have if R recovers the ball in K’s end zone? What if K3 and R4 simultaneously recover the muffed ball in K’s end zone? 4-2, 8-2

SITUATION: R1 signals for a fair catch of a scrimmage kick. Teammate R2 catches the kick and is tackled immediately by K2. R2 fumbles the ball and K3 recovers. How do you handle this situation?
4-2

SITUATION: With second down and 5, on the last play of the third period, A2 gains two yards. The down-indicator is changed to fourth down. The referee checks with each official to receive the all-clear, and then holds the ball over his head to signify that the quarter is over. The chain crew reverses the chain and sets the chain for the next play. Only then, is it recognized that the down indicator is incorrect. It should be third down. What do you do? 5-1

SITUATION: A1 throws a forward pass that is intercepted by B2 on his 5 yard line. B2 circles back into his end zone to avoid a tackler. While B2 is in the end zone, the line judge inadvertently sounds his whistle. How do you handle this? 4-2, 8-5

SITUATION: While B1 is attempting to tackle A1, B1’s helmet comes off. A1 does not go down and continues for a touchdown. What if helmetless B1 would chase A1 and tackle A1 to prevent a score? 3-5, 4-2

SITUATION: K1 punts from his own 20-yard line. The kick is high and short. R1 gives a valid signal (have you explained a valid signal) beyond the neutral zone and muffs the kick. The ball rebounds behind the line of scrimmage, where A1 recovers and advances the ball for what would be a first down. Is this ok? What if A1 recovers the ball behind the line of scrimmage and just balls on the ball? Which team will be in possession at the conclusion of the play? Be careful here!!!! The ball was touched beyond the line of scrimmage and came back behind the line of scrimmage. 4-2, 6-1, 6-2, 6-5

HAVE A GREAT WEEK 9
This is the final regular season game - THANK YOU FOR MAKING A DIFFERENCE

[Previous Weeks] [2016 Announcements] [Archives]

 

Untitled Document
Current Champions

6A

5A

4A DI

4A DII

3A

2-1A

8-Man DI

8-Man II

Derby

Shawnee-Mill Valley

Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege

Pratt

Rossville

Troy

Osborne

Hanover

Welch Stadium, ESU

Carnie Smith Stadium, PSU

Hummer Sports Complex, Topeka

Salina District Stadium

Gowan Stadium, Hutchinson

Lewis Field Staidum, FHSU, Hays

Fischer Field, Newton

Fischer Field, Newton


[Previous State Champions]

 
Untitled Document