Soccer
Soccer

 

Weekly Announcements

September
15



2014-15 SOCCER RULE CHANGE
Substitutions situations after injuries


SITUATION 5: Player A2 goes down and is apparently injured. Following a preliminary examination, the official stops the clock and beckons A2’s coach or athletic trainer onto the field to attend to the injured player, but they refuse to comply. RULING: The injured player must be removed and may be replaced. (3.3.2 Situation G)

SITUATION 6: Player A2 (a) is injured and attended to on the field; (b) is issued a yellow card for a cautionable offense. Although in both instances Player A2 must leave the field, Team A’s coach elects to play one player short. RULING: Legal. (3.3.2 Situation H)

SITUATION 7: Player A2 is injured. After examining Player A2, the referee stops the clock and beckons A2’s coach or athletic trainer onto the field to attend to the injured player. (a) The athletic trainer for Team A attends to the injured player while Coach A gives instruction to players on the field; (b) Coach A attends to the injured player and gives instruction as she/he walks out and back; (c) opposing Coach B calls his team to the sideline and gives instruction to the team; (d) Coach A, while on the sideline, calls for a substitute for A2 and gives instruction to the substitute. RULING: Legal in (a), (b), (c) and (d). (3.3.2 Situation I)

SITUATION 8: Player A2 leaves the field due to an injury and the team elects to play shorthanded. After the game has been restarted, (a) Player A12 replaces Player A2; (b) Player A2 re-enters the field. RULING: (a) Player A12 may enter the game only at the next legal substitution opportunity; (b) Player A2 may re-enter the field at the next stoppage of play. (3.3.2 Situation J)

SITUATION 9: Player A2 is injured during the course of play but manages to hobble across the touchline to avoid disrupting play and to allow the game to continue. At the next stoppage in play (not necessarily a stoppage for which Team A would normally be permitted to substitute), the coach for Team A substitutes for Player A2 directly from the bench. RULING: Legal, unless Player A2 has been disqualified under the provisions of 12-8 that do not permit a substitution and provided that the other prerequisites for proper substitution have been met. COMMENT: An injured player leaving the field under his/her own power would not be considered a violation of 12-8-1a. (3.3.2 Situation K)

 

[Previous Weeks]

 

Untitled Document
Current Boys Champions Current Girls Champions

6A

5A

4-1A

OP-Blue Valley Northwest

OP-St. Thomas Aquinas

Shawnee Mission-Bishop Miege

6A

5A

4-1A

OP-Blue Valley Northwest

OP-St. Thomas Aquinas

Wichita-Trinity Academy


[Previous State Champions]


[Previous State Champions]

 
Untitled Document