Wanda May Scholarship


2021 Wanda May Vinson Scholarship Recipients

The recipients of the Wanda May Vinson Scholarships for 2021 have been announced by Cheryl Gleason, Director of the Kansas Association for Youth (KAY) program, sponsored by the Kansas State High School Activities Association. The scholarships are awarded to graduating high school seniors who have provided outstanding leadership in the Kansas Association for Youth, achieved high scholastic standing and have made contributions of service to their school and community.

The 2021 recipients include:

  • Mykayla Ard - Moran-Marmaton Valley HS
  • Emma Day - WaKeeney-Trego Community High
  • Kathryn Etheredge - Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel HS
  • Kali Garten Hansel - Kinsley HS
  • Riley Jacobson - Scandia-Pike Valley HS
  • Maggie James - Ellis HS
  • Ross Latta - Marysville HS
  • Taylor Lindberg - Great Bend HS (Kayettes)
  • Lilly Rooks - Hoyt-Royal Valley HS
  • Ea Schmelzle - Seneca-Nemaha Central HS
  • Lili Shubert - WaKeeney-Trego Community High
  • Hibah Yaseen - Emporia HS
  • Lily Zagula - Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel HS

The honorees will use the money to attend the school of their choice. The scholarships, named for the founder and former director of the Kansas Association for Youth, Wanda May Vinson, are made possible through gifts from the KAY members of Kansas and other supporters of the Kansas Association for Youth.

2021 marks the 64th year of awarding Wanda May Vinson Scholarships. During this span of time, five hundred and eighty-five students have received these scholarships, this year reaching a total amount of $137,000.00.




Cheryl Gleason
Cheryl Gleason, Administrator
(785) 273-5329