Hall of Fame
Hall Of Fame


Five individuals have been selected for induction into the Kansas State High School Activities Hall of Fame Class of 2016. Awards will be presented during second semester, 2016, in conjunction with a KSHSAA-sponsored State function /championship or locally, at the inductee's request. The time and location of each induction ceremony can be found here.

The Class of 2016 Hall of Fame inductees include:

Jon Bingesser Jim Krob J.C. Louderback Gail Naylor Brian Shay
Jon Bingesser Jim Krob J.C. Louderback Gail Naylor Brian Shay


[Presentation Dates & Times]


Bingesser’s contributions to athletics runs the full spectrum of possibilities – earning 12 varsity letters in both high school and college, serving as an athletic coach in several high school sports, school athletic director, college coach and senior Olympic participant. After coaching stints early in his career at Palco and Solomon, he lead the Sacred Heart Knights to 3 state football titles (1969, 1974, 1979) and assisted with 4 state basketball titles (1975, 77, 80, 81). Additional football accomplishments include 2 league titles at Beloit HS and 3 league titles with the St. John (Beloit) Blujays. His HS football record over a span of 41 years is 170-70-1 (.708). He coached in 2 Shrine Bowl games and was inducted into the Shrine Bowl Hall of Fame in 2007. Among many other honors are Hall of Fame inductions at Washburn University and Kansas Wesleyan University.

Jim Krob’s incredible coaching career includes one year at Burdett HS, 7 years at Jewell HS (winning 2 state track titles), 4 years at Russell HS followed by 12 years at Bethany College (winning 7 consecutive KCAC track titles) and 18 years at Ft. Hays State University (winning 5 consecutive Rocky Mountain Conference track titles). A life long member of the Kansas Coaches Association, he attributes his college success to his years in Kansas high schools. After joining the college ranks he continued to give back to high school athletics, hosting numerous track & field clinics, serving as a track and field official/starter, speaking at numerous clinics and certifying over 2,000 Rule 10 coaches through the ASEP program. He has received numerous coaching awards and one of many Hall of Fame inductions is the National High School Coaches Association Hall of Fame.

To say that J.C. Louderback coached a little tennis in his day is a huge understatement. Louderback is synonymous with tennis success in the state of Kansas. For 36 years (1957-1993) he coached boys tennis at Arkansas City HS resulting in 20 singles and doubles state champions, 4 Class 5A team titles, & 17 Ark Valley League Championships. During this incredible span of time, players from Ark City HS qualified for the state tennis tournament 34 consecutive years, had 4 years of consecutive doubles champs (1984-87), and qualified the entire team for state action 8 years. He has extensive tennis involvement-President of AC Tennis Assn for 40 years, has directed numerous clinics/camps, USTA/Missouri Valley contributions, etc. He is a 4 time Kansas Tennis Coach of the Year and 2 time National High School Regional Tennis Coach of the Year.

The consistent success Gail Naylor developed over four decades of coaching Speech and Debate is evidenced by the numbers: 60 KSHSAA State Champions in individual and team events in 3A competition; including four consecutive team titles, 68 Champions in NFL competition in the Flint Hills District against schools from 2A to 6A, and 26 years under which she has at least one qualifier to the national competition. Her students also excelled by winning fourteen 3A State Lincoln-Douglas Debate Champions and seven 3-2-1A State Debate Titles. Naylor also directed 29 plays and musicals and mentored nine student teachers in debate and speech coaching. Among her many honors and Hall of Fame recognitions, she was named the Teacher of the Year at Silver Lake four years and nominated for Kansas State Teacher of the Year five times.

BRIAN SHAY, PAOLA – STUDENT (Paola High School, 1991-1995)
Brian Shay was a standout two sport student athlete at Paola High School. During his senior year of football, he was a starting running back and linebacker for the 1994 Class 4A State Champion Football Team, scoring 27 touchdowns and setting a school record of 3495 career rushing yards and 324 career tackles. He was named a Class 4A First Team All-State and First Team All Classifications All-State. In wrestling he captured 2 state titles – Class 4A 160 pound title (29-2) his junior year and capped off his high school wrestling career his senior year with a state title and undefeated season (28-0) at 185 pounds. After graduation he played football at Emporia State, setting numerous Division II records. In 1998 he was named the Harlon Hill Trophy Winner (Division II’s equivalent to the Heisman Trophy). In 2015 he was inducted into the MIAA Hall of Fame.

The Hall of Fame is housed in the Kansas State High School Activities Association offices, 601 SW Commerce Place in Topeka and is open Monday –Friday during business hours (directions @ www.kshsaa.org).

The honorees were chosen from nominations reviewed by a selection committee. To be eligible for the Hall of Fame, an individual must have made an unusually outstanding contribution in interschool activities, either as a student with exceptional talent, or as an adult working with youth (such as an activity coach, director or sponsor, an administrator, an official or a contributor). Hall of Fame inductees may no longer be active in the field for which they are nominated (exception: contributor with over 30 years of outstanding service).

Each year schools and communities throughout Kansas submit many nominations of individuals who have made tremendous contributions in the field of interschool activities. Hall of Fame information is available on the KSHSAA website at www.kshsaa.org. Nomination forms are available by contacting the KSHSAA. Any nominations to be considered for induction in 2017 must be submitted prior to November 1, 2016.