
   

 

   

 

April 15, 2025 

 

The following situations have occurred in the last week. Please review: 
 
Attempted Bunt? 
Any movement of the bat toward the ball when the ball is over or near the plate area, is a strike. The 
mere holding of the bat in the strike zone is not an attempt to bunt. Take a look at rule 10-1-4a for the 
language in the rules book. Also 7-2-1 situation b in the NFHS case book. 
 
Lodged Ball in Catcher Equipment 
With a runner on first attempting to steal second on the pitch; The pitch gets lodged in the catchers 
equipment. The umpire shall call “time.” This is a one base award from the time of pitch. Therefore the 
runner would be put on second base. 
 
Attempted Steal of Second – Ball Four 
If there is an attempted steal of second base, on a pitch that is ball four, obviously the batter-runner is 
awarded first base and the runner at first is forced and awarded second base. Keep in mind that the field 
umpire may not know it was ball four and if the catcher throws to second he will make a ruling on the 
play at second. If an out is called, the plate umpire needs to call “time” and clarify that it was ball four 
and be sure the runner is awarded second base appropriately. 
 

Suspended Game – Pitch Counts 

Take a look at and review pitch count situation as it relates to suspended games 

https://www.kshsaa.org/public/baseball/pdf/pitchcountsituations.pdf 
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