
   

 

   

 

April 22, 2025-Softball Announcements 

 

Team Picture 

Be sure to have your team picture complete. It will be required to submit your passgate/roster for 

postseason. 

 

Situation: Team A is at bat with B1 in the left-hand batter’s box and they square to bunt with their left 

foot in the front corner of the batter’s box closest to home plate. As the ball comes off the bat it hits 

B1’s left foot that is still on the ground completely in the batter’s box. The umpire rules this a dead ball 

and the batter-runner out for contacting a fair batted ball before reaching first base. Team A’s coach 

argues that the ball hit the batter in the batter’s box so it should be ruled a foul ball. The umpire rules 

that since the batter’s foot was in the part of the batter’s box that is in fair territory when contact was 

made that the ball is fair, and the batter becomes a batter-runner since they have hit a fair ball. Also 

they are out for contacting the batted ball prior to reaching first base. RULING: Incorrect ruling by the 

umpire. When the ball touches the batter while the batter is still within the batter’s box it is a foul ball. 

Since the ball is foul by rule then the batter has not become a batter-runner and has not violated the 

rule for contacting the ball prior to reaching first base. Unless the batter had two strikes when they 

bunted the ball foul, the batter remains at bat with a strike added to their count. (2-24-1f, 2-64, 7-4-9, 8-

1-1a, 8-2-7e)  

 

Situation: With R1 on second base and no outs, B2 hits a deep base hit that gets past the outfielders and 

ends up at the fence. R1 rounds third base and is obstructed by F5 and falls to the ground. In a) the third 

base coach seeing R1 on the ground and the ball still at the fence grabs R1 and helps them back to their 

feet. The umpire rules R1 out for being physically assisted and allows play to continue. In b) F8 retrieves 

the ball and returns the ball to F1 in the circle with B2 standing on second base and R1 is still laying on 

the ground unable to get back to their feet. The umpire rules R1 out for violating the look-back rule for 

not immediately advancing toward home or returning to third base. RULING: Incorrect ruling in both 

cases. When R1 is obstructed, the umpire should signal a delayed dead ball and verbalize “obstruction”. 

Since the obstruction occurred between third base and home plate the runner cannot be called out 

between these two bases unless they violate one of the six exceptions listed in 8-4-3b Penalties 1 

Exceptions. In a) when a runner is physically assisted by an offensive team member, other than another 

runner, typically the ball remains in play and the runner is called out (live ball out). In this case since the 

runner that was assisted is still between the two bases where they were obstructed and has been put 

out for being physically assisted the ball becomes dead. Since the runner is still between the two bases 

where they were obstructed, they may not be called out unless they violate one of the listed exceptions. 

A runner being physically assisted is not one of these exceptions allowing a runner to be called out. So 

when the obstructed runner is put out the ball becomes dead and the umpire would award the 

obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the base or bases which would 

have been reached, in the umpire’s judgement, had there not been obstruction. Similarly in b) violating 

the look-back rule is not an exception allowing the runner to be put out between the two bases where 

they were obstructed. When the runner violated the look-back rule the ball becomes dead and the 

umpire would award the obstructed runner and each other runner affected by the obstruction the base 

or bases which would have been reached, in the umpire’s judgement, had there not been obstruction. 

(8-4-3b Penalties 1 Exceptions, 8-6-5, 8-7-2) 


