
   

 

   

 

April 7, 2025 

 

Play Card Wrist/Armbands 
The play card wristbands must be worn on the wrist/arm. Funny concept isn’t it. Umpire shall and will 
direct you to wear them appropriately. 
 
 
Covering the Rules of Softball 
Situation: Team A is at bat when B1 hits a sharp ground ball that F3 dives to their right to field. As B1 is 

running to first base F3 dives and touches the base with their bare hand with the ball in their glove. As 

they land after touching the base they roll over and the ball comes out of their glove after rolling over. 

Team B’s coach insists that B1 should be safe at first base as F3 did not maintain control of the ball as 

they rolled over. RULING: This is a judgement call. Plays at first base are executed the same as a force 

play, a fielder touching first base while holding the ball prior to the batter-runner reaching the base will 

put out the batter-runner. In this play, to retire the batter-runner F3 must have control of the ball when 

they touch first base prior to B1 reaching first base. If the umpire judges that F3 had control of the ball 

when they touched the base prior to B1 reaching the base B1 shall be ruled out. (2-64, 2-37-3, 8-2-2) 

 

Situation: In the third inning Team A is batting with one out and R1 on first base, B3 hits a ground ball 

down the third base line that goes untouched to F7. F7 throws the ball over F6’s head allowing R1 to 

advance to third base. F3 fields the throw and tosses the ball to F1 who is in the circle as R1 is on third 

base and B3 has returned to first base. F1 with possession of the ball in the circle turns their back on B3 

at first base and B3 comes off the base and advances to second base. After B3 leaves their base R1 then 

also takes a step toward home. Team B’s coach insists this is a violation of the look-back rule and both 

B3 and R1 should be ruled out. Team A’s coach says that the pitcher made a play on R1 so both runners 

are allowed to leave their bases. RULING: By rule Team A’s coach is correct that a runner would not be 

called out if a play is made on another runner and a fake throw is considered a play. However, it is 

umpire judgement if the actions of F1 constitute a play being made. If F1 simply turned their back on B3 

and looked at R1 as they were moving back toward the pitching plate while in possession of the ball 

within the circle this would not be considered making a play on R1. If F1 did not make a play on a 

runner, B3 would be in violation of the look-back rule. The ball would be dead and B3 would be ruled 

out. Since the ball is dead when B3 violated the look-back rule, R1 is not out for leaving their base. Only 

one runner, the one who left their base first, may be called out for violating the look-back rule with the 

other runners being returned to the last base touched. (8-7-3 Penalty and Exception) 


