

# KSHSAA HONORS ATHLETIC OFFICIALS FOR DEDICATION & SERVICE

## **DECEMBER 2022:**

Each year, the Kansas State High School Activities Association recognizes and honors a select group of contest officials for their dedication and service to Kansas interscholastic athletic programs. The KSHSAA Official Recognition program started in the 1999-2000 school year to honor officials who have contributed significant years of service. Award plaques are given for 20, 30, 40 and 50 years of service to the youth and schools of Kansas. Officials reaching these milestones are recognized at a ceremony in conjunction with a state championship event.

Each school year approximately 4,000 men and women, including some high school students, become KSHSAA registered athletic officials. The Association registers officials in 10 of the 14 sports it sponsors. Officials at interscholastic athletic events not only provide for a fair and safe contest environment but also play an important role as participants in the educational development of high school students.

The KSHSAA was pleased to recognize these special individuals for their years of study, preparation, sacrifice of personal time, and most of all, their enduring commitment to the schools and youth of Kansas.

# KSHSAA Registered Officials Honored in the Fall of 2022

### 50 Years of Service 40 Years of Service Mike Kastle, Parsons Bruce Stanford, St. John

James Hearn, Wichita Terry Plumberg, Seneca Kirk Simone, Silver Lake Douglas Simpson, Overland Pk Greg Fast, Moundridge Rick Weber, Atchison Randal Wilson, Colby

## **30 Years of Service**

Patricia Brooke, Manhattan Cynthia Campbell, Overland Pk Jennifer Fitzpatrick, Larned Brad Cowles, Topeka Robert Garcia, Westmoreland Lorie Godfrey, Arkansas City Tom Hawks, Smolan Chris Johnson, Wichita

## **20 Years of Service**

Matthew Baxter, Hutchinson Efrain Gonzalez, Olathe Jeff Johnson, Hutchinson Brad McDonald, Wichita William Purviance, Blue Spgs, MO