2023 KSHSAA STATE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT SPORTSMANSHIP AWARDS

The Kansas State High School Activities Association, through its member schools, defines sportsmanship as those qualities of behavior which are characterized by generosity and genuine concern for others. Further, an awareness is expected of the impact of an individual's influence on the behavior of others.

The excitement of a basketball game can create concerns for fans, students and officials. Citizenship/Sportsmanship Rule 52 addresses this by stating: "Win with character and lose with dignity."

Outstanding sportsmanship is acknowledged each year by presenting sportsmanship certificates, plaques and medals. All 112 high school teams participating in KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments may qualify for an award. A "rating" system is used allowing schools to compete against a "standard of excellence", rather than competing against one another.

A special sportsmanship committee appointed by the KSHSAA evaluated and rated the cheerleaders, school cheering section, adult and non-high school followers, team and coach of each school. The following schools qualified for **sportsmanship awards** at the KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments:

CLASS 1A DII GIRLS -

Certificate:

Hutchinson-Central Christian: Abby Reed, Principal Rozel-Pawnee Heights: Mark Pywell, Principal Sharon Springs-Wallace County: Matthew Brown, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 1A DII BOYS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

Coldwater-South Central: Bud Valerius, Principal

CLASS 1A DI GIRLS -

Certificate:

Claflin-Central Plains: Toby Holmes, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Frankfort: Dean Dalinghaus, Principal Quinter: Toby Countryman, Principal

CLASS 1A DI BOYS -

Certificate:

McPherson-Elyria Christian: DeAnn Huxman, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Classical School of Wichita: Grant Bickell, Principal Olpe: Shane Clark, Principal

CLASS 2A GIRLS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

Wathena-Riverside: Marlin Roach, Principal

CLASS 2A BOYS -

Certificate:

St. Marys: Adam Hurla, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 3A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Carbondale-Santa Fe Trail: Patrick Graham, Principal Eureka: Sean Spoonts, Principal Frontenac: Brandy Stanley, Principal Riley County: Harold Oliver, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Goodland: Shane Hollern, Principal Phillipsburg: Todd Bowman, Principal Silver Lake: Ryan Luke, Principal

CLASS 3A BOYS -

Certificate:

Colby: Ryan Muhlig, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Gypsum-Southeast of Saline: Rhonda Wright, Principal

CLASS 4A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Parsons: Eric Swanson, Principal Wellington: John Nance, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Andale: Michelle Schackleford, Principal Hugoton: Melody Witt, Principal

CLASS 4A BOYS -

Certificate:

Baldwin: Brant Brittingham, Principal Clay Center Community: Bud Young, Principal Wellington: John Nance, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Eudora: Ron Abel, Principal

CLASS 5A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Topeka-Highland Park: Juli Watson, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 5A BOYS -

Certificate:

Maize South: Becky Sailor, Principal Overland Park-Blue Valley Southwest: Dr. Tyler Alexander, Principal

Plaque & Medals: Wichita-Kapaun Mt. Carmel: Chris Bloomer, Principal

CLASS 6A GIRLS -

Certificate:

None

Plaque & Medals:

None

CLASS 6A BOYS -

Certificate:

Shawnee Mission Northwest: Dr. Lisa Gruman, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

None