
   

 

   

 

April 7, 2025 

 

Third to First Move 
The fake to third and throw to first move is LEGAL by NFHS rule. The pitcher must be sure to completely 
step and disengage from the pitcher’s plate before making their move to first base. 
 
Play Card Wrist/Armbands 
The play card wristbands must be worn on the wrist/arm. Funny concept isn’t it. Umpire shall and will 
direct you to wear them appropriately. 
 
Postseason Rosters 
A survey was sent to coaches earlier this school year asking about expanding the postseason roster. The 
vote was not favored by baseball coaches. The roster will remain at 18 this year. 
 
Covering the Rules of Baseball 
 
SITUATION: With a runner on first base, the pitcher pivots to throw to first base and loses grip on the 

ball. As a result, the pitcher spikes the ball toward the ground which rolls between first and second base. 

The defensive coach argues it should be a “do-over” and not a balk. RULING: This is a balk. The defense 

needed to complete the play attempt with a throw that sends the ball in the direction of first base. A slip 

(as opposed to a pitch or throw) is a released baseball, intended to be a pitch or a throw, but lacks both 

aim and momentum. An intended pick-off throw to first that slips is a balk if it doesn’t reach the foul line 

or a fielder within reach of a tag attempt at the base. (6-1-4; 6-2-4a) 

 

SITUATION: With the bases empty, B1 swings and misses strike three which rebounds uncaught off the 

catcher. The catcher secures the baseball and throws to first from a small distance in front of home 

plate. B1, in the last 30 feet to first base, is running out of the running lane on (a) the foul side of the 

running lane, or (b) the fair side of the running lane. RULING: In (a), this is no violation of the running 

lane rule and the play will be how it plays out. In (b), this is a violation of the running lane rule and B1 

will be declared out for interference at the moment the catcher throws to first base. (8-4-1g) 

 

SITUATION: The catcher is attempting to throw out B2 on a grounded bunt that went just a few feet into 

fair ground. B2 is running in fair ground and is 30 feet from first base and outside the running lane. The 

catcher (a) makes a throw to first base but it sails high over the first baseman’s head, or (b) hesitates 

and does not throw to first. RULING: In (a), as soon as the catcher made a throw to first base, 

interference is called and B2 is declared out. The quality of the throw is not important. In (b), no 

interference can be called, even though B2 is running out of the running lane, since a throw was not 

made to first base. (8-4-1g) 


