2019 KSHSAA STATE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT SPORTSMANSHIP AWARDS

The Kansas State High School Activities Association, through its member schools, defines sportsmanship as those qualities of behavior which are characterized by generosity and genuine concern for others. Further, an awareness is expected of the impact of an individual's influence on the behavior of others.

The excitement of a basketball game can create concerns for fans, students and officials. Citizenship/Sportsmanship Rule 52 addresses this by stating: "Win with character and lose with dignity."

Outstanding sportsmanship is acknowledged each year by presenting sportsmanship certificates, plaques and medals. All 96 high school teams participating in KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments may qualify for an award. A "rating" system is used allowing schools to compete against a "standard of excellence", rather than competing against one another.

Schools whose teams did not advance to the semifinal rounds were eligible to receive a certificate if they met the qualifying standards of sportsmanship. Schools participating all three days of the tournament were eligible to receive a plaque for their school and medals for cheerleaders.

A special sportsmanship committee appointed by the KSHSAA evaluated and rated the cheerleaders, school cheering section, adult and non-high school followers, team and coach of each school. The following schools qualified for **sportsmanship awards** at the KSHSAA State Basketball Tournaments:

CLASS 1A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Coldwater-South Central: Ty Theurer, Principal Montezuma-South Gray: Kim Batman, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Claflin-Central Plains: Toby Holmes, Principal Kensington-Thunder Ridge: Jeff Yoxall, Principal Waverly: Susan Wildeman, Principal

CLASS 1A BOYS -

Certificate:

Macksville: Carey Fose, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Caldwell: Aaron Roop, Principal Osborne: Tom Conway, Principal St. John-Hudson: Blain White, Principal

CLASS 2A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Holton-Jackson Heights: Darren Shupe, Principal Howard-West Elk: Martin Burke, Principal Johnson-Stanton County: Trevor Siebert, Principal Olathe-Heritage Christian: Rick Jarvis, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Alma-Wabaunsee: Jan Hutley, Principal Sterling: Dr. Bill Anderson, Principal

CLASS 2A BOYS -

Certificate:

Eskridge-Mission Valley: David Cromer, Principal

McLouth: Janna Davis, Principal Plainville: Jeremy Krob, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Inman: Tyler Weinbrenner, Principal Ness City: Tom Flax, Principal

CLASS 3A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Clay Center Community: Bud Young, Principal Columbus: Tim Davied, Principal Eureka: Sean Spoonts, Principal Scott Community: Brad McCormick, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Cheney: Greg Rosenhagen, Principal Hoyt-Royal Valley: Jim Holloman, Principal Norton Community: Rudy Perez, Principal Seneca-Nemaha Central: Ben Scism, Principal

CLASS 3A BOYS -

Certificate:

Atchison-Maur Hill-Mount Academy: Monika King, Principal

Eureka: Sean Spoonts, Principal Kingman: Andy Albright, Principal Larned: Troy Langdon, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Beloit: Casey Seyfert, Principal

Hays-Thomas More Prep-Marian: Chad Meitner, Principal

Perry-Lecompton: Mike Maloun, Principal

CLASS 4A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Abilene: Dr. Ben Smith, Principal Eudora: Ron Abel, Principal

Towanda-Circle: Matthew Carroll, Principal

Ulysses: Mark Paul, Principal **Plaque & Medals:**

Baldwin: Frank Perbeck, Principal

Kansas City-Piper: John Nguyen, Principal

Nickerson: Rick Blosser, Principal

CLASS 4A BOYS -

Certificate:

Chanute: Brian Campbell, Principal

Garnett-Anderson County: Matt Self, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

Wichita-Trinity Academy: Jaime Hutchinson, Principal

CLASS 5A GIRLS -

Certificate:

NONE

Plaque & Medals:
McPherson: Bryce McFarland, Principal
Overland Park-St. Thomas Aquinas: Craig Moss, Principal

CLASS 5A BOYS -

Certificate:

Bonner Springs: Rick Moulin, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

NONE

CLASS 6A GIRLS -

Certificate:

Liberal: Ashley Kappelmann, Principal

Plaque & Medals:

CLASS 6A BOYS -

Certificate:

Lawrence-Free State: Myron Graber, Principal

Plaque & Medals: