Weekly Announcements




Ball Stuck in Glove (New Interpretation)

SITUATION : The batter hits a hard one-hop ground ball back to the pitcher. The pitcher makes a great stab on the ball, gloving it in the webbing of the glove. With the batter-runner fast approaching first base, the pitcher is unable to quickly pull the ball out of the glove’s webbing. The pitcher takes a few fast steps toward first base and takes his glove, with the ball in the webbing, and shovels it to the first baseman who catches the glove with the ball prior to the arrival of the batter- runner. RULING: The batter-runner is out. The first baseman had secure possession of the ball and glove before the batter-runner touched first base. (2- 9-1, CB 2.9.1 SITUATION D)

You will notice the in your NFHS Case Book that Situation’s 5-1-1 R and S are now incorrect. They will be removed from the case book.

No Jewelry
No jewelry may be worn on a baseball player. Umpires should cover this in the pregame meeting specifically but when umpires also say “are your players legally equipped” this covers it as well. Upon discovery an umpire will issue a team warning. Next offender is ejected.

NFHS Rule 2-1-12: Jewelry shall not be worn (3-3-1d) except for religious or medical medals. A religious medal must be taped and warn under the uniform. A medical alert must be taped and may be visible.

NFHS Rules Questionnaire
All coaches and umpires should have received a link to the 2019 NFHS Baseball Rules Questionnaire. Kansas traditionally has a good participation rate in this survey so please go in there and answer questions based on the rules this season. They honestly go a long way when determining new rules for next year. Questionnaire is due May 13.

Scores and Schedules
Please make sure you are keeping your scores up to date as we grow closer to the regional seeding date. This helps tremendously towards seeding purposes.

SITUATION: R1 is off with the pitch, which the batter hits high and deep down the first-base foul line. As the ball is caught at the fence, R1 has missed second base and is standing on third when the ball goes dead on an overthrow. R1 retreats to first base and touches second base as he returns. RULING: Had the ball not been dead, R1’s retreat would have been legal and his touching of second on his return would satisfy his baserunning requirements under the principle of “last time by.” However, since R1 was on third base (the succeeding base from the missed second base) when the ball became dead, he cannot return to second base and/or first base. If the defense legally appeals his missing second base on his advance, he would be declared out. (8-2-5, 8-2-6l)

[Previous Weeks]