Baseball
Baseball

Weekly Announcements

April
8

 

 

Request for Time
Rule: 8-3-3c.2, which gives runners two bases "If a live thrown ball—goes into a stand for spectators, dugout or player’s bench or over or through or lodges in a fence and it is not thrown by a pitcher from his plate as in 8-3-3d."

The key is the difference between live and dead ball. Remember, a ball remains live unless it becomes dead by rule, or by an umpire's call of "Time," which only can be made under certain circumstances. In general, umpires keep play alive after a base hit, out, or other event when the ball remains on the field and if a fielder wishes to exchange a baseball, that fielder must first ask for and be granted "Time" before throwing the ball out of play, lest the live ball, two-base award apply.

Identification Cards
Umpires should provide coaches a card with their name and town on it prior to each contest so they know who the umpires are for each game. In many cases this is the only way coaches know who to recommend for postseason. Don’t assume they know you – or that they will remember who you were when they submit recommendations.

Video of Other Team
It is not permissible for a team to video another team that they are not currently playing. Doing this is a direct violation of KSHSAA policy.

Got to Have Nine
For any level of contest each team must be able to provide nine players to start the game. You can finish with eight if a player in the lineup if someone during the course of the game is unable to play. NFHS Rule Reference: 4-3-1

SITUATION : With one out and a runner on first base, the defense brings in a substitute pitcher. After one pitch to the batter, the pitcher successfully picks off the runner at first base. The coach now wants to make another pitching change. RULING: The home plate umpire will not allow this pitching change. The substitute pitcher must pitch to the batter then at bat, or any substitute for that batter, until such batter is out or reaches first base, or until a third out has been made. (3-1-2)

SITUATION: A sharp line drive is hit to the second baseman. The impact of the ball takes the glove off the second baseman’s hand, and the glove lands on the ground with the ball still in the pocket of the glove. The second baseman retrieves the glove and takes the ball out of the pocket. Is this a catch or must the ball be thrown to first base in an attempt to record the out? RULING: This is not a catch. To record the out on the batter-runner, the second baseman would need to throw the ball to first in an attempt to obtain the force out. A catch is an act of a fielder gaining secure possession in his hand or glove of a live ball in flight and firmly holding it. (2-9-1)

[Previous Weeks]