Kansas State High School Activities Association

MINUTES



Board of Directors Held Virtually via ZOOM Wednesday, September 14, 2022

Note: Minutes are subject to approval by the Board at its next meeting.

The Board of Directors met virtually on Wednesday, September 14, 2022, with the following in attendance:

GOVERNOR AT-LARGE APPOINTEES - Delvin Strecker, Salina; Linda Wiley, Silver Lake; David Abel, Wichita;

BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES – Matt McCabe, Buhler; Bob Dietz, Smith Center; Sue Bolley, Topeka; Mike Kastle, Parsons; Sharon Mitchell, Spring Hill; Mark Richards, Goddard; Shelby Green, Douglass;

ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES – Stan Boggs, Dodge City; Shawn Steiner, Dodge City; Mark Gard, Coffeyville-Field Kindley; Mike Harris, Wichita-Southeast;

MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES – Superintendent Kellen Adams, Chanute; Principal Cort Haynes, Maize South; Athletic Director Justin Briggs, Dodge City-Comanche; Principal Connie Redic, Wichita-Curtis;

SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES - Principal Shannon Haydock, Rose Hill (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Assistant Principal Laura Scaglione (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Russell Baldwin, Derby (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Justin Seuser, Buhler (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Principal Rod Wittmer, Holton (Big Seven); Principal Rebecca Morrisey, Topeka (Centennial); Athletic Director Bobby Taul, Topeka-Hayden (Centennial); Principal Scott Dunham, Douglass (Central Plains); Principal Jon Webster, La Crosse (Central Prairie); Principal Toby VanCleave, Galena (CNC); President Andy Tylicki, Lenexa-St. James Academy (Eastern Kansas); Athletic Director Kelli Kurle, Overland Park-Blue Valley North (Eastern Kansas); Principal Jay Doornbos, Council Grove (Flint Hills); Principal Jeff Hines, Paola (Frontier); Principal Eric Hofer-Holdeman, Wichita-Northwest (Greater Wichita); Principal Ben Mitchell, Wichita-Southeast (Greater Wichita); Principal Donald Raymer, Marion (Heart cipal David Schenk, Olathe-Heritage Christian (Kaw Valley Conference); Principal Tammy Baird, Madison (Lyon County); District Athletic Director Tammie Romstad, Kansas City (Meadowlark); Principal Greg Koelsch, Smith Center (Mid-Continent); Principal Adam Hurla, St. Marys (Mid-East); Principal Casey Seyfert, Beloit (North Central A.A.); Principal Ben Smith, Abilene (North Central Kansas); Principal Larry Mills, Horton (Northeast Kansas); Superintendent Roger Perkins, Miltonvale-Southern Cloud (Northern Plains); Principal David Morrow, St. Francis (Northwest Kansas); Superintendent Tyson Eslinger, Deerfield (Santa Fe Trail); Principal Ron Levan, South Haven (South Central Border); Principal Travis Stalford, Coffeyville-Field Kindley (Southeast Kansas); Principal Travis Stalford, C pal Travis Powell, Greensburg-Kiowa County (SPIAA); Principal Jay Novacek, Olathe West (Sunflower); Principal Jessica Bassett, Lawrence (Sunflower); Principal Todd Dain, Shawnee Mission South (Sunflower); Principal Rob Schneeberger, Oswego (Three Rivers); Principal Sean Spoonts, Eureka (Tri-Valley); Principal Cory Jensen, Hanover (Twin Valley); Principal Alan Penrose, Kansas City-Turner (United Kansas Conference); Athletic Director Rick Byers, Kansas City-Turner (United Kansas Conference); Principal Ashley Kappelmann, Liberal (Western Athletic Conference); Athletic Director Drew Thon, Garden City (Western Athletic Conference); Principal Bryant Briggs, Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell (Western Kansas-Liberty); Principal Nick Owen, Solomon (Wheat State); Principal Kenny Waddell (Independent Schools);

KSHSAA STAFF – Executive Director, Bill Faflick; Assistant Executive Directors Francine Martin, Mark Lentz, Jeremy Holaday, Craig Manteuffel, Rod Garman, Annie Diederich and Kyle Doperalski; Office/Operations Manager Brent Unruh and Staff Member Mindy Nichol.

Absent were:

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES – Jim McNiece, Wichita;

BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES – Rob Vohs, Louisburg;

ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES – Ryan Burrows, Satanta;

MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES - Principal Steve Oliver, Wabaunsee;

SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES – Principal Dustin Wilson, Larned (Central Kansas); Principal Matt Bayer, Scott Community (Great West Activities Conference); Principal Sara Richardson, Wichita-East (Greater Wichita); Principal Lacy Warren, Atchison (Meadowlark); Principal Patrick Graham, Santa Fe Trail (Pioneer); Assistant Principal Marilyn Chrisler, Shawnee-Mill Valley (Sunflower).

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING FORMAT

The Board of Directors assembled at 3:00 p.m. Wednesday for an executive director state of the Association presentation and final determination on Agenda items.

Following public hearings, discussion and voting of all agenda items, the Board adjourned at 3:25 p.m.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR'S REPORT

Bill Faflick, Executive Director, presented remarks on the Association's financial position and updated the members of the Board of Directors on business and policy matters of the Association.

PUBLIC FORUM

The opportunity for public comment on KSHSAA issues was provided. *No comments were received or speakers registered for this meeting.*

APRIL 29, 2022 MEETING MINUTES APPROVED

M. Kastle moved, second by D. Thon, to approve the Minutes of the April 29, 2022, Board of Directors meetings. The motion passed (64-0).

NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the KSHSAA Board of Directors will be held at the KSHSAA office at 601 SW Commerce Place in Topeka on:

Thursday, April 27, 2023, 4 p.m.

(hearings, discussion, final action and Executive Board elections)

Friday, April 28, 2023, 9 a.m.

(tentative - depending on agenda length)

Before adjourning, board members were reminded of the upcoming Regional Administrator and Board of Education meetings to be held across the state in October. Board members were encouraged to attend the meetings to be held on the following dates at the listed locations:

Monday, October 17, 2022 Topeka, KSHSAA Office

Tuesday, October 18, 2022 Salina-Smoky Hill Education Service Center

Wednesday, October 19, 2022 Oakley High School

Thursday, October 20, 2022 Dodge City USD 443 District Office Monday, October 24, 2022 Blue Valley USD 229 Hilltop Facility

Tuesday, October 25, 2022 Maize Performing Arts and Aquatic Center

Wednesday, October 26, 2022 Fort Scott High School

