**Kansas State High School Activities Association** 





Executive Board Meeting Virtual Attendance Friday, April 30, 2021

Note: Minutes are subject to approval by the Board at its next meeting.

The 2021-22 Executive Board held an organizational meeting at 6:10 p.m. following adjournment of the Board of Directors' meeting on Friday, April 30, 2021. The following individuals were in attendance (representative position for 2021-22 school year): Tim Bumgarner (2A Classification), Matt Garber (Middle School/Junior High), Shannon Haydock, (4A Classification), Deena Horst (Kansas State Board of Education), Mike Kastle (Local Board of Education), Roger Perkins (1A Classification), Greg Rosenhagen (3A Classification), Catherine Smith (Governor's appointee), Drew Thon (6A Classification), Linda Wiley (Governor's appointee), and Bill Faflick, Executive Director. Assistant Executive Directors Cheryl Gleason, Francine Martin, Mark Lentz, Jeremy Holaday, Craig Manteuffel, Rod Garman, Office Manager Brent Unruh, and Assistant Executive Director – elect Annie Diederich were also present. Ben Sutherlin (5A Classification) was unable to attend.

## **EXECUTIVE BOARD OVERVIEW**

Staff and returning members of the Executive Board provided a brief review of best practices for new members of the Executive Board and opportunities to prepare for effective service as they lead as members of this governing board. The approved meeting schedule was provided for the 2021-22 Executive Board as follows:

## **FUTURE MEETING DATES**

Tuesday, September 14 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Wednesday, September 15 – 8:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Wednesday, November 17 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday, November 18 – 8:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Wednesday, January 12 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday, January 13 – 8:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Wednesday, March 16 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday, March 17 – 8:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

Thursday, April 28 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Friday, April 29 – 8:30 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Wednesday, June 15 – 10 a.m. – 5 p.m. Thursday, June 16 – 8:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

## **NEXT MEETING**

The 2021-22 Executive Board will meet for an orientation at 8:15 a.m. on June 16, 2021 and then participate as observers for the June 16-17 Executive Board meeting. The June meeting of the 2020-21 Executive Board is scheduled for:

**Wednesday, June 16, 2021** 10 a.m. – 5 p.m.

**Thursday, June 17, 2021** 8:30 a.m. – 3 p.m.

## 2021-22 OFFICERS ELECTED

The Executive Board elected the following officers (Executive Committee) for 2021-22: President – Roger Perkins, Miltonvale-Southern Cloud; Vice-President – Mike Kastle, Parsons; Secretary-Treasurer – Greg Rosenhagen, Cheney.

Following elections, the meeting was adjourned at approximately 7:05 p.m.