#### Kansas State High School Activities Association Minutes \*Note: Minutes are subject to the approval by the Board at its next meeting.

## Board of Directors Special Meeting Held Virtually via ZOOM Friday, August 28, 2020

The Board of Directors met virtually on Friday, August 28, 2020 with the following in attendance:

**STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES** – Deena Horst, Salina; Jim McNiece, Wichita;

**GOVERNOR AT-LARGE APPOINTEES** – Delvin Strecker, Salina; Linda Wiley, Silver Lake; Catherine Smith, Olathe; David Abel, Wichita;

**BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES** – Matt McCabe, Buhler; Bob Dietz, Smith Center; Keith Griffin, Topeka-Seaman; Mike Kastle, Parsons; Stacy Obringer-Varhall, Blue Valley; Jerry Flanagan, Louisburg; Mark Richards, Goddard; Craig Nelson, Andale;

**ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES** – Ryan Burrows, Satanta; Stan Boggs, Dodge City; Jason Menard, Douglass; Gae Phillips, Columbus; Steve Harrell, Tonganoxie;

**MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES** – Principal Alan Stein, Hill City; Principal Matthew Garber, Sabetha; Principal Cort Haynes, Maize South; Athletic Director Justin Briggs, Dodge City-Comanche; Principal Brandon Simmelink, McPherson;

**SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES** – Assistant Principal Amanda Grier, Andover (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Ken Stonebraker, Salina-South (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Justin Seuser, Buhler (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Principal Rod Wittmer, Holton (Big Seven); Principal Rebecca Morrisey, Topeka (Centennial); Athletic Director Penny Lane, Topeka-Washburn Rural (Centennial); Athletic Director Curtis Simons, Emporia (Centennial); Principal Dustin Wilson, Larned (Central Kansas); Principal Greg Rosenhagen, Cheney (Central Plains); Principal Dylan Dronberger, Victoria (Central Prairie); Principal Toby VanCleave, Galena (CNC); Principal Brett Potts, Overland Park-Blue Valley West (Eastern Kansas); Principal Amy Pressly, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest (Eastern Kansas); Principal Kelly McDiffett, Council Grove (Flint Hills); Principal Jeff Hines, Paola (Frontier); Principal Kelly Whittaker, Ottawa (Frontier); Principal David Blochlinger, Goodland (Great West Activities Conference); Principal Cara Ledy, Wichita-South (Greater Wichita); Principal Eric Hofer-Holdeman, Wichita-Northwest (Greater Wichita): Principal Sara Richardson, Wichita-East; Principal Tim Bumgarner, Whitewater-Remington (Heart of America); Principal Brent Shaffer, Kiowa-South Barber (Heart of the Plains); Principal Monty Marlin, Sublette (Hi-Plains); District Athletic Director Tammie Romstad, Kansas City (Kansas City-Atchison); Principal Mary Stewart, Kansas City-Wyandotte (Kansas City-Atchison); Principal Tammy Baird, Burlingame (Lyon County); Principal Greg Koelsch, Smith Center (Mid-Continent); Principal Jan Hutley, Alma-Wabaunsee (Mid-East); Principal Casey Seyfort, Beloit (North Central A.A.); Principal Darren Schroeder, Marysville (North Central Kansas); Principal Brad Jones, Oskaloosa (Northeast Kansas); Superintendent Roger Perkins, Miltonvale-Southern Cloud (Northern Plains); Principal David Morrow, St. Francis (Northwest Kansas); Principal Stacy Reed, Burlington (Pioneer); Superintendent Stuart Moore, Moscow (Santa Fe Trail); Principal Shane Holtzman, Altamont-Labette County (Southeast Kansas); Principal Travis Powell, Greensburg-Kiowa County (SPAA-Iroquois Activity Association); Principal Jason Herman, Olathe North (Sunflower); Principal Myron Graber, LawrenceFree State (Sunflower); Assistant Superintendent Michelle Hubbard, Shawnee Mission (Sunflower); Athletic Director Jerald Van Rheen, Shawnee-Mill Valley (Sunflower); Principal Rob Schneeberger, Oswego (Three Rivers); Principal Sean Spoonts, Eureka (Tri-Valley); Principal Dean Dalinghaus, Frankfort (Twin Valley); Principal Christina Jones, Leavenworth (United Kansas Conference); Principal Martin Straub, Hays (Western Athletic Conference); Athletic Director Drew Thon, Garden City (Western Athletic Conference); Principal Todd Flinn, Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell (Western Kansas-Liberty); Principal Joel Kahnt, White City (Wheat State); Principal David Schenk, Olathe-Heritage Christian (Independent Schools);

**KSHSAA STAFF** – Executive Director, Bill Faflick; Assistant Executive Directors Cheryl Gleason, Francine Martin, Mark Lentz, Jeremy Holaday, Craig Manteuffel, and Rod Garman; Office/Operations Manager Brent Unruh and Staff Member Mindy Nichol.

Absent were:

**MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES** – Principal Rod Smith, Olathe-Frontier Trail;

**SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES** – Principal Shannon Haydock, Rose Hill (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Superintendent Dale Adams, Udall (South Central Border); Athletic Director Ben Sutherlin, Kansas City-Turner (United Kansas Conference).

### **BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING FORMAT**

The Board of Directors assembled via virtual platform at 3 p.m. Friday evening for hearings, discussion, and final action on agenda items.

President Alan Stein informed members should they wish to add an item to the agenda it could be done provided three-fourths of those present agreed.

Following discussion and final actions on all agenda items, the Board adjourned at 3:58 p.m.

### **EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS REPORT**

Bill Faflick, Executive Director, called roll and presented remarks on the Association staff's agenda item history.

### WAIVER OF 10-DAY WRITTEN MEETING NOTICE

Motion by Rosenhagen, second by Graber, to waive **Bylaw Article IV**, Section 11 requiring a 10-day written meeting notice. The vote was 74 in favor, 0 opposed. Motion passed.

All agenda items approved become effective immediately upon publication of these minutes unless otherwise specified. Abstentions from voting by Board of Director members count as an opposed vote.

*NOTE:* Words or phrases which appear underlined in the following sections indicate the changes which were made.

#### ALTERNATIVE FALL SEASON APPROVED

A motion was made by Kastle, seconded by Perkins, to modify Handbook rules in order to provide a possible alternative fall season and possible modified start/end to the spring season during the 2020-21 school year only. Rules affected would include:

Rule 30 – Seasons of Activities Rule 32 – Baseball Rule 34 – Cross Country Rule 35 – Football Rule 36 – Golf Rule 37 – Gymnastics Rule 38 – Soccer Rule 39 – Softball Rule 40 – Swimming & Diving Rule 41 – Tennis Rule 42 – Track & Field Rule 43 – Volleyball

A motion was made by Heinz, seconded by Shaffer, to amend the presented classification bands by moving Class 4A to join with Classes 3-1A in a band together. The amendment was approved by a vote of 54 in favor, 20 opposed. A motion was made by Kastle, seconded by Lane, to add **Rule 22 – Outside Competition** to the list of rules to be modified. The amendment was approved by a vote of 70 in favor, 4 opposed. The amended proposal was approved by a vote of 45 in favor, 29 opposed.

#### **EXECUTIVE BOARD EMPOWERED TO MAKE RULE CHANGES**

Motion by Stonebraker, seconded by Perkins, to empower the Executive Board to make changes to the following rules for the 2020-21 school year only:

Rule 22 – Outside Competition Rule 30 – Seasons of Activities Rule 32 – Baseball Rule 34 – Cross Country Rule 35 – Football Rule 36 – Golf Rule 37 – Gymnastics Rule 38 – Soccer Rule 39 – Softball Rule 40 – Swimming & Diving Rule 41 – Tennis Rule 42 – Track & Field Rule 43 – Volleyball

The proposal was approved by a vote of 53 in favor, 21 opposed.

## NEXT MEETING

The next meeting of the KSHSAA Board of Directors will be held virtually on:

# Wednesday, September 16, 2020, 4 p.m. (hearings, discussion, final action)