Kansas State High School Activities Association

MINUTES



Board of Directors Special Meeting Held Virtually via ZOOM Wednesday, January 20, 2021

Note: Minutes are subject to approval by the Board at its next meeting.

The Board of Directors met virtually on Wednesday, January 20, 2021 with the following in attendance:

STATE BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES - Deena Horst, Salina; Jim McNiece, Wichita;

GOVERNOR AT-LARGE APPOINTEES - Delvin Strecker, Salina; Linda Wiley, Silver Lake; Catherine Smith, Olathe; David Abel, Wichita;

BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES – Matt McCabe, Buhler; Bob Dietz, Smith Center; Mike Kastle, Parsons; Stacy Obringer-Varhall, Blue Valley; Mark Richards, Goddard; Craig Nelson, Andale;

ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES – Ryan Burrows, Satanta; Stan Boggs, Dodge City; Jason Menard, Douglass; Steve Harrell, Tonganoxie;

MIDDLE/JUNIOR HIGH SCHOOL REPRESENTATIVES – Principal Alan Stein, Hill City; Principal Matthew Garber, Sabetha; Principal Rod Smith, Olathe-Frontier Trail; Principal Cort Haynes, Maize South; Athletic Director Justin Briggs, Dodge City-Comanche; Principal Brandon Simmelink, McPherson;

SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES - Principal Shannon Haydock, Rose Hill (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Assistant Principal Amanda Grier, Andover (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Ken Stonebraker, Salina-South (Ark Valley/ Chisholm Trail); Athletic Director Justin Seuser, Buhler (Ark Valley/Chisholm Trail); Principal Rod Wittmer, Holton (Big Seven); Principal Rebecca Morrisey, Topeka (Centennial); Athletic Director Penny Lane, Topeka-Washburn Rural (Centennial); Athletic Director Curtis Simons, Emporia (Centennial); Principal Dustin Wilson, Larned (Central Kansas); Principal Greg Rosenhagen, Cheney (Central Plains); Principal Dylan Dronberger, Victoria (Central Prairie); Principal Toby VanCleave, Galena (CNC); Principal Brett Potts, Overland Park-Blue Valley West (Eastern Kansas); Principal Amy Pressly, Overland Park-Blue Valley Northwest (Eastern Kansas); Principal Kelly McDiffett, Council Grove (Flint Hills); Principal Jeff Hines, Paola (Frontier); Principal Kelly Whittaker, Ottawa (Frontier); Principal David Blochlinger, Goodland (Great West Activities Conference); Principal Cara Ledy, Wichita-South (Greater Wichita); Principal Eric Hofer-Holdeman, Wichita-Northwest (Greater Wichita); Principal Sara Richardson, Wichita-East (Greater Wichita); Principal Tim Bumgarner, Whitewater-Remington (Heart of America); Principal Brent Shaffer, Kiowa-South Barber (Heart of the Plains); Principal Monty Marlin, Sublette (Hi-Plains); District Athletic Director Tammie Romstad, Kansas City (Kansas City-Atchison); Principal Tammy Baird, Burlingame (Lyon County); Principal Greg Koelsch, Smith Center (Mid-Continent); Principal Jan Hutley, Alma-Wabaunsee (Mid-East); Principal Casey Seyfort, Beloit (North Central A.A.); Principal Darren Schroeder, Marysville (North Central Kansas); Superintendent Roger Perkins, Miltonvale-Southern Cloud (Northern Plains); Principal David Morrow, St. Francis (Northwest Kansas); Principal Stacy Reed, Burlington (Pioneer); Superintendent Stuart Moore, Moscow (Santa Fe Trail); Principal Aaron Roop, Caldwell (South Central Border); Principal Shane Holtzman, Altamont-Labette County (Southeast Kansas); Principal Travis Powell, Greensburg-Kiowa County (SPAA-Iroquois Activity Association); Principal Jason Herman, Olathe North (Sunflower); Principal Myron Graber, Lawrence-Free State (Sunflower); Assistant Superintendent Michelle Hubbard, Shawnee Mission (Sunflower); Athletic Director Jerald Van Rheen, Shawnee-Mill Valley (Sunflower); Principal Rob Schneeberger, Oswego (Three Rivers); Principal Sean Spoonts, Eureka (Tri-Valley); Principal Dean Dalinghaus, Frankfort (Twin Valley); Principal Christina Jones, Leavenworth (United Kansas Conference); Athletic Director Ben Sutherlin, Kansas City-Turner (United Kansas Conference); Principal Martin Straub, Hays (Western Athletic Conference); Athletic Director Drew Thon, Garden City (Western Athletic Conference) ence); Principal Todd Flinn, Grainfield-Wheatland/Grinnell (Western Kansas-Liberty); Principal Joel Kahnt, White City (Wheat State); Principal David Schenk, Olathe-Heritage Christian (Independent Schools);

KSHSAA STAFF – Executive Director, Bill Faflick; Assistant Executive Directors, Jeremy Holaday, Craig Manteuffel, and Rod Garman; Office/Operations Manager Brent Unruh and Staff Member Mindy Nichol. Assistant Executive Directors Cheryl Gleason, Francine Martin and Mark Lentz participated virtually.

The following members were absent:

BOARD OF EDUCATION REPRESENTATIVES - Keith Griffin, Topeka-Seaman; Jerry Flanagan, Louisburg;

ORGANIZATIONAL REPRESENTATIVES - Gae Phillips, Columbus;

SENIOR HIGH SCHOOL LEAGUE REPRESENTATIVES – Principal Mary Stewart, Kansas City-Wyandotte (Kansas City-Atchison); Principal Brad Jones, Oskaloosa (Northeast Kansas)

BOARD OF DIRECTORS MEETING FORMAT

The Board of Directors assembled via virtual platform at 2 p.m. Wednesday afternoon for hearings, discussion, and final action on agenda items.

President Alan Stein and Executive Director Bill Faflick informed members should they wish to add an item to the agenda it could be done provided three-fourths of those present agreed.

Following discussion and final actions on all agenda items, the Board adjourned at 2:47 p.m.

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR MEETING OVERVIEW

Bill Faflick, Executive Director, called roll and presented remarks on behalf of the Association staff regarding meeting protocols.

WAIVER OF 10-DAY WRITTEN MEETING NOTICE

Motion by R. Perkins, second by S. Haydock, to waive Bylaw Article IV, Section 11 requiring a 10-day written meeting notice. The vote was 73 in favor, 0 opposed. Motion passed.

All agenda items approved become effective immediately upon publication of these minutes unless otherwise specified. Abstentions from voting by Board of Director members count as an opposed vote.

NOTE: Words or phrases which appear underlined in the following sections indicate the changes which were made to written rule language.

PUBLIC FORUM

The following individuals provided written comments to the Board of Directors:

- 1. Glenn Brands, Almena
- 2. Rhonda Rau, Andale
- 3. Robby Spexarth, Andale
- 4. Jennifer Feldkamp, Lincoln
- 5. Luke Scoby, Sabetha
- 6. Bud Keim, Sabetha
- 7. Jenny Diederich, Louisburg
- 8. Chris & Angie Lourance, Sabetha
- 9. Donna Keim, Sabetha
- 10. Kim Keeter, Renwick
- 11. Tina Hiss, Great Bend
- 12. Jamie Strahm, Sabetha
- 13. Judy Erpelding, Lawrence
- 14. Ross Talley, Centralia
- 15. Heather Stackley, Junction City
- 16. Dryden Cosens, Fort Scott

SPECTATOR LIMITS ADJUSTED

Motion by M. Kastle, seconded by B. Sutherlin to implement the following rule change for member schools during the 2020-21 school year only:

Beginning January 29 until the end of winter activities regular season this school year, a maximum of four spectators per participant will be permitted to attend with appropriate social distancing required. Local school districts may choose to have stricter limitations based on seating and local health department guidelines.

Following discussion, a call for the question was made by D. Schenk, seconded by S. Holtzman. The vote was approved 64 in favor, 8 opposed.

The proposal was approved by a vote of 46 in favor, 27 opposed.

NEXT MEETING

The next regularly scheduled meeting of the KSHSAA Board of Directors will be held on:

Friday, April 30, 2021, 4 p.m.

(hearings, discussion, final action)